Home > Musings, Roleplaying > Campaign/Adventure Ideas Inspired By Other Things

Campaign/Adventure Ideas Inspired By Other Things

Campaign ideas seem to jump on me at random times and that served to inspire this post. Today I’m going to discuss a campaign idea and an adventure idea that I’ve had recently along with telling you the places where I get my inspiration.

Boosters – Shadowrun

Inspired by: The Fast And The Furious

I finally watched this movie recently, fourteen years after it hit the theaters. While it’s a ‘modern’ movie, I think the movie’s core could serve as perfect inspiration for the beginning of a Shadowrun game. Hijacking megacorps goods seems like the sort of thing shadowrunners might be into. And it wouldn’t even have to be about them being bad guys. A Robin Hood-oriented team could just as easily be stealing the goods to help the less fortunate. The movie even has the “run gone wrong” that Shadowrun thrives on as well as making alliances you’re not happy about for the good of the team.

The Dimensional Hole – Savage Worlds

Inspired by:Meet Me Halfway” by The Black Eyed Peas

This idea was largely inspired by the imagery of the music video, though the song has a certain place in the inspiration too. This one would probably work best as a one-shot or a mini-campaign rather than a long campaign, but there would probably be ways to expand it. The core of the idea is that people from various times and dimensions are pulled into a central location where they have to ascertain the rules of their environment and solve some sort of problem that could affect them all. This could easily be done with normal level characters or you could expand it into a more superhero-based game. I think it would have more impact and flexibility as a normal level game, but superheros opens up some interesting options as well.

In Closing

This is just a couple of the ideas I’ve had in the last few months. My current 5th Edition D&D campaign draws heavy inspiration from the Icewind Dale trilogy by R.A. Salvatore. I even started piecing together a campaign idea based on what would happen to a thieves’ guild when an incident leaves a group of low level PCs as the senior members. I find that inspiration tends to hit me more often from music than books or movies, but I get ideas all over the place.

I also have way more ideas than I have time, but I’m sure that’s a constant affliction for those of us in this hobby. One of these days I may even get to use some of these ideas, but until then they just get jotted down for reference. So what’s one or two of your campaign ideas? Where do you get your campaign inspiration? Feel free to share in the comments.

Categories: Musings, Roleplaying
  1. July 10, 2015 at 11:24 AM

    I have that same affliction, overwhelming ideas with limited game time. While movies and tv shows inspire me to play genres (like sudden urges to run a superhero game after each Marvel movie), it is music lyrics and images that spawn adventure and campaign ideas. In fact, I name most of my adventures after songs. Most recently, I ran my wife and daughters in their first ever adventure and it was title “Hello Darkness My Old Friend”. I have folders where I keep pictures and jotted down song lyrics that I might use in the future.

  1. April 18, 2016 at 10:38 AM

Leave a Reply

